© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

AFA - Alvar Aalto museum extension

"The structure made of white metal columns supporting the roof, looks like some geometrical trees"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Alvar Aalto Foundation
Location/Lieu:Jyvaskyla, Finland
Area/Surface: 280sqm/280m²
Year/Année:2015
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: Competition/Concours

The city of Jyväskylä, in the north of Finland has the distinction of hosting two buildings of the architect Alvar Aalto within the Ruusupuisto neighborhood: the Central Museum of Finland built in two stages (the original building was built in 1961 and an extension increasing the area of ​​the museum in 1990) and right next to it, Aalto also built the museum of its foundation in 1973.

 

The implementation of these two buildings left a planted gap in which nature has taken over.

As time passed, other buildings where built in the area, including an university equipment with a large open square in front of the two museums but having no connection with these.

 

The void generated by the two museums has created a functional disorder because both institutions coexist without actually having any relationship. In addition each of them has functions or spaces that may be beneficial for both museums. The Central Museum of Finland has an auditorium and a lift, whereas the Alvar Aalto Museum has some training rooms and a cafeteria with a terrace overlooking a pond, etc ...

 

To overcome these dysfunctions, an extension for accommodating a new shop linking the museums will be created. It will synergize the museum spaces and balance the cultural site.

The extension is a gateway between the two institutions. It offers a shared shop to the two museums, which will allow selling the various products associated with the activity of the cultural site and with the architect Alvar Aalto.

It is also a unique transition space that connects the different levels of each institution. It is a light pavilion wrapped by a printed glass screen which reproduces the pattern of the surrounding vegetation. Two inner vegetal courtyards bring nature into the museums and act as smooth transition around which the circulations are organized.

 

The shop is completely open on the site and its surrounding. Besides, the structure made of white metal columns supporting the roof look like some geometrical trees. The interior ceiling undulates like the tree leaf, it is made of hundreds of square elements placed at different heights. Throughout the day the space is bathed with natural light with some of these elements that are occasionally open to the sky and covered with a gold color cladding. These skylights provide a soft golden light to the space.

 

The access to the two museums and the relationship they have with the university building square were redesigned to facilitate exchanges and interactions between the equipments.

The site is now a large square completely pedestrian with stairs and ramps that allow people to easily go from one museum to another.

 

The new extension has a double reading. From the outside, it is a discreet glass building that seems to disappear and in the inside, it hides a strong architecture in relation to its site creating a link between the museum of Central Finland and the Alvar Aalto Museum.

© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

AFA - Extension du musée Aalto

"Les poteaux métalliques blancs supportant la toiture reprennent la forme désarticulée des arbres"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:La Fondation Alvar Aalto
Location/Lieu:Jyvaskyla, Finlande
Area/Surface: 280sqm/280m²
Year/Année:2015
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: Competition/Concours

La ville de Jyväskylä, située au Nord de la Finlande possède la particularité d’abriter au sein du même quartier de Ruusupuisto deux bâtiments de l’architecte Alvar Aalto : le musée Central de Finlande construit en deux temps (le bâtiment original fut édifié en 1961 et une extension est venue agrandir la surface du musée en 1990) et juste à côté Aalto a également bâti le musée de sa fondation en 1973.

 

L’implantation de ces deux bâtiments a laissé un interstice végétal dans lequel la nature a pris le dessus.

Au fur et à mesure du temps d’autres bâtiments sont venus s’implanter dans les environs, notamment un équipement universitaire avec une grande place ouverte qui fait face aux deux musées sans être en connexion avec ces derniers.

 

Le vide généré par les deux musées a créé un malaise fonctionnel car les deux établissements se côtoient sans réellement entretenir de relation. De plus chacun possède des fonctions ou des lieux qui peuvent être bénéfiques pour les deux musées. Le musée central de Finlande possède un auditorium et un ascenseur, le musée Alvar Aalto quant à lui possède une cafétéria avec une terrasse ouverte sur un bassin en cascade et des salles de formation, etc…

 

Afin de pallier ces disfonctionnements, une extension destinée à accueillir une nouvelle boutique reliant les musées a été conçue. Elle permettra de mettre en synergie les espaces des musées et d’équilibrer ce plateau culturel.

L’extension est un trait d‘union entre les deux établissements. Elle abrite une boutique commune aux deux musées, qui permettra de commercialiser les différents produits liés à l’activité du plateau culturel et notamment à l’architecte Alvar Aalto.

C’est également un lieu de transition unique qui permet de connecter les différents niveaux de chaque établissement. C’est un pavillon léger habillé d’un verre sérigraphié qui reprend le motif de la végétation environnante. Deux patios intérieurs végétalisés amènent la nature au sein des musées et font office de transition douce autour desquels les circulations s’organisent.

 

La boutique est totalement ouverte sur le site et la nature. D’ailleurs la structure des poteaux métalliques blancs supportant la toiture reprend la forme désarticulée des arbres. Le plafond intérieur de l’espace ondule tel le feuillage des arbres grâce à des centaines d’éléments carrés de hauteurs aléatoires. Tout au long de la journée l’espace est baigné de lumière grâce à certains des éléments carrés qui sont ponctuellement percés et habillés d’une couleur or. Ces ajourages apportent une douce lumière dorée à l’espace.

 

L’accès vers les deux musées et les relations qu’ils entretiennent avec la place du bâtiment universitaire ont été redessiné afin de faciliter les échanges et les interactions entre l’ensemble des équipements.

Le site est dorénavant une grande place entièrement piétonne avec des escaliers et des rampes qui permettent de passer aisément d’un musée à un autre.

 

La nouvelle extension a une double lecture. C’est un bâtiment discret en verre qui s’efface vu de l’extérieur et de l’intérieur, il dissimule une architecture forte en relation avec son site créant un lien entre le musée Alvar Aalto et le musée Central de Finlande.