© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

AIA - Algéco modular school

"The superposition and offsets of the Algeco block allows classes to enjoy an outdoor space"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Wilmotte Foundation
Location/Lieu:Ivry sur Seine, France
Area/Surface: 2500sqm/2500m²
Year/Année:2008
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: Competition/Concours

What will be the classroom of the future? How education should evolve to meet new concerns?

The school of tomorrow should be green, open, lively and class could be done partly in nature. The project seeks to meet these new objectives.

 

The project is located in a large urban district in a really narrow site. The narrowness of the site has not been seen as a constraint but rather as an opportunity to create an intimate school, protected from the street.

Each class is a combination of several Algeco modules. They are grouped in pairs, one above the other. The game of superposition and offsets of the Algeco allows classes to enjoy an outdoor area which is the continuity of the class (outdoor spaces which can be use according to season).

Each block of classes is covered with a composite material reminding the shape of "Lego" or with a colorful metal mesh overgrown by vegetation. The random arrangement of class volumes gives the impression that the building was set on a vegetal bed. Écouter

© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

AIA - Ecole modulaire Algéco

"Chaque classe possède sur sa toiture un espace de plein air personnalisable qui pourra être utilisé au gré des saisons"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Fondation Wilmotte
Location/Lieu:Ivry sur Seine, France
Area/Surface: 2500sqm/2500m²
Year/Année:2008
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: Competition/Concours

Qu’implique la classe du futur ? Comment l’enseignement doit-il évoluer pour répondre aux nouvelles préoccupations ?

L’école de demain sera verte, ouverte, vivante et l’enseignement pourra se faire en partie dans la nature. Le projet tente de répondre à ces nouveaux objectifs.

 

C’est dans un quartier à forte urbanité dans un site aux dimensions étroites que le projet s’implante. L’étroitesse du site n’a pas été vue comme une contrainte mais plutôt comme une opportunité de créer une école intimiste, protégée de la rue.

 

Chaque classe est la combinaison de plusieurs modules Algeco. Elles sont regroupées deux par deux, l’une au dessus de l’autre. Les jeux de superpositions en décalé des Algeco permettent aux classes de bénéficier d’un espace extérieur qui est la continuité de la classe (classe de plein air, espace appropriable en fonction des saisons).

 

Chaque plot de classes est habillé soit par une enveloppe composite rappelant la forme des « Lego », soit par une résille colorée envahie par la végétation. La disposition aléatoire des volumes de classes donne l’impression d’un jeu de construction posé sur un lit végétal.