© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

EEL - House extension

"Seen from the garden, the house reveals the complex geometry of its shape , like the folding of a Japanese origami"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Private/Privé
Location/Lieu:Eterville, France
Area/Surface: 170sqm/170m²
Year/Année:2014
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: Cancelled/Abandonné

It is for their old days that the owners of this house located in the suburbs of Caen decided to build an extension to match their new way of life. Their current house has ​​119sqm on 3 floors (a basement used as a garage, the ground floor as living spaces and the first floor is dedicated to bedrooms) on a land of 873sqm. The extension should be easy to access and allow a disabled person to move easily inside the space in case one day that one of the two owners uses a wheelchair.

 

The project was therefore to create an extension on the north-western part of the existing home. The new volume was positioned in this part of the property in order to keep up the integrity of the garden that develops around the house. Moreover, this portion of the garden suffers less from the shadow of the existing house during the day.

 

The extension includes a bedroom, a dressing room, a bathroom and an extra office space. It is located between the existing house and the western property boundary. It is recessed compared to the existing house along the retaining wall of the garden and turns around to be attached to the house.

This position gives it some mystery. It faces the garage access and gives the feeling of an observatory perched on its base.

 

View from the street, the extension reveals a part of the geometry of its volume without totally revealing it. The random position of the windows breaks the monotony of this black massive shape and makes it look less heavy.

 

From the garden the new volume has a small private mineral outdoor patio on which the bedroom and bathroom can be totally opened. The patio plays with transparency of the louvers and the density of the materials. The extension can be read as the composition of two small huts around this new private outdoor space.

 

From the street, the roof looks like one simple element but it reveals the complex geometry of its shape from the garden, like the folding of a Japanese origami. The extension is an intimate volume open on its garden.

© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

EEL - Extension d'une maison

"L’extension révèle une partie de sa géométrie et de son volume sans pour autant se dévoiler totalement"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Private/Privé
Location/Lieu:Eterville, France
Area/Surface: 170sqm/170m²
Year/Année:2014
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: Cancelled/Abandonné

C’est en prévision de leurs vieux jours que les propriétaires de ce pavillon situé dans un lotissement en périphérie de Caen ont décidé de construire une extension qui répondra à leurs nouvelles exigences de vie. La maison actuelle a une surface habitable de 119m² et se développe sur 3 niveaux (le sous-sol faisant office de garage, le rez-de-chaussée servant d’espace de vie et le 1er étage est dédié aux chambres) sur un terrain de 873m². L’extension devra être facile d’accès et permettre le déplacement d’une personne à mobilité réduite dans l’éventualité où l’un des deux propriétaires serait amené à se déplacer en fauteuil roulant.

 

Le projet a donc consisté à créer une extension sur la partie nord-ouest de la maison existante. Le nouveau volume a été positionné dans cette partie de la parcelle afin de conserver au maximum l’intégrité du jardin qui se développe autour de la maison. De plus, cette partie du terrain subit au minimum l’ombrage de la maison existante tout au long de la journée.

 

L’extension comprend une chambre, un dressing, une salle de bain et un bureau d’appoint. Elle est située entre la maison existante et la limite de propriété ouest. Elle se positionne en recul par rapport à la maison existante le long du mur de soutènement et se retourne le long de celui-ci pour venir s’accrocher à la maison.

Cette position lui attribue un certain mystère. Elle fait face à la descente du garage et donne le sentiment d’un observatoire perché sur son socle.

 

Vue depuis la rue, l’extension révèle une partie de la géométrie de son volume sans pour autant se dévoiler totalement. Les fenêtres aléatoirement placées viennent rompre et alléger la monotonie de cette masse noire.

 

Depuis le jardin, le nouveau volume laisse transparaitre un petit patio extérieur minéral privatif sur lequel peuvent s’ouvrir la chambre et la salle de bain. Le patio joue sur la transparence des brises vue et le changement de densité des matériaux. L’extension se lit comme la composition de deux petites cabanes autour de ce nouvel espace extérieur privé.

 

La toiture, qui depuis la rue se lisait d’un seul trait, révèle la complexité du volume et se plisse au gré des fonctions tel un origami vu depuis le jardin. C’est un volume qui se replie sur lui-même et s’ouvre sur son jardin.