© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

LAB/CTC - Chenjia Town Club

"This big unifying roof gives the impression of a more spacious building encompassing the building and the garden"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Chongming Island Government
Location/Lieu:Chongming Island, China
Area/Surface: 3000sqm/3000m²
Year/Année:2011
Cooperation/Collaboration: Lab Architecture Studio
Status/Status: Stopped/Abandonné

This project is a small program (comprising meeting rooms, restaurant, a small exhibition room…) on a quite big land on Chongming island (Shanghai).

 

The concept was to create a large unifying roof under which all the functions required by the program have been installed. Each function is represented by a simple “box” spread on the site. According to the size of the function, the volume of the box extends more or less from the roof. Between each box, the façade encompassing all these functions is completely glazed to give the impression of being outside.

 

 

The landscape and the building are treated with the same language with irregular stripes in different directions. Each stripe of land is going up or down creating angles which makes a hilly aspect. The roof becomes an elevated part of the landscape using the same angled shape.  The voids created in the middle part of the roof allow extending the garden inside the building.

 

 

The roof and the boxes are opposed by their volume.  The angled roof has a complicated shape and seems to float above the site whereas the boxes are very pure and simple. The use of different materials emphasizes this opposition. The roof is in Corten steel whereas the boxes use stone to give them a strong and solid aspect.

 

 

This big unifying roof gives the impression of a more spacious building encompassing the building and the garden. It’s the combination of architecture and landscape where visitors can enjoy a special interior design visually linked to the landscape.

© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

LAB/CTC - Chenjia Town Club

"Le grand toit unificateur cuivré englobe à la fois le bâtiment et une partie du jardin"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Chongming Island Government
Location/Lieu:Chongming Island, China
Area/Surface: 3000sqm/3000m²
Year/Année:2011
Cooperation/Collaboration: Lab Architecture Studio
Status/Status: Stopped/Abandonné

Ce projet est un petit programme public (comprenant des salles de réunions, un restaurant, une petite salle d’exposition…) sur un terrain assez grand sur l’île de Chongming (Shanghai).

 

Le concept a été de créer un grand toit unificateur abritant toutes les fonctions demandées dans le programme. Chacune de ces fonctions sont représentées par des simples « boites » réparties sur le site. Selon la taille de la fonction, le volume de chaque boite s’étend plus ou moins en dehors de la toiture. La façade englobant toutes les fonctions, est complètement vitrée pour donner l’impression d’être à l’extérieur.

 

Le paysage et le bâtiment ont été traités de la même manière avec des bandes irrégulières de différentes directions. Chaque bande monte ou descend ce qui créé des angles donnant du relief au site. Le toit devient une partie surélevée du paysage utilisant les mêmes formes anguleuses. Le retrait de la partie centrale de la toiture a permis d’étendre le jardin à l’intérieur du bâtiment.

 

La toiture et les boites s’opposent par leur volumétrie. La toiture anguleuse a une forme plutôt complexe et semble flotter sur le site, alors que les boites sont des volumes purs et simples. L’utilisation de différents matériaux renforce cette opposition. Le toit est en acier corten et alors que les boites sont en pierre beige pour leur donner un aspect fort et solide.

 

Le grand toit unificateur donne l’impression d’un espace plus grand englobant à la fois le bâtiment et une partie du jardin. C’est la combinaison de l’architecture et du paysage ou les visiteurs peuvent profiter d’un intérieur spécial visuellement connecté à son extérieur.