IEV - Holiday home renovation in Normandy

"It is a large property in the middle of the countryside with a beautiful landscape and a pond, which has seen several uses"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Privé
Location/Lieu:La Touche, France
Area/Surface: around 600sqm/ environ 600m²
Year/Année:2020
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: On going/En cours

Living in Paris for many years but eager to create a family environment outside the capital, our clients have chosen to buy a holiday home near Paris. This new residence will accommodate all the family and friends during weekends and holidays. It is essentially a home for leisure and conviviality.

 

Our clients looked for various property, first close to the surroundings of Angoulême and then in Normandy. Finally, after many months of research, they found a property near Alençon in Normandy. It is a large property in the middle of the countryside with a beautiful landscape, a pond and a heated swimming pool.

This beautiful two-hectare property has seen several uses before it was bought by the current owners (main house, summer camp, etc.). As highlighted in the commercial real estate brochure « Three centuries were necessary for the completion, at the end of the 19th century, of this house of beautiful proportions, which give it a very classic interior distribution, enhanced by beautiful light volumes. »

 

Four buildings are spread over the property, a stone outbuilding formerly a caretaker's house, a stone shed serving as a garage, a more recent masonry building serving as a workshop and the main house which is the result of multiple successive additions.

Each building extension is recognizable by the lowering of its roof compared to the previous volumes. A contemporary veranda located perpendicular to the rest of the volumes completes the building. Therefore, the house looks like a large stone farmhouse with many stepped levels.

 

In this main building, the previous owners had undertaken many renovation works including the dining room, the kitchen, some bedrooms and the magnificent monumental wooden staircase. However, they were not able to complete all of the works, leaving much of the house in poor condition.

Many rooms were therefore left raw without lining and insulation, revealing the stone of the exterior walls. Some floors could not be completed and give a glimpse of the lower levels through the many breaches in the structural wooden floors. Finally, the plumbing and electricity networks of the rooms concerned were installed but never completed.

The rooms to be finalized have beautiful stone volumes (often associated with large fireplaces), for which it will be necessary to define uses and exploit the potentials, and in particular the current attic which has never been visited and which seems to have a beautiful height.

 

The client program is simple : create a large reception room, a beautiful dining kitchen, a dormitory for children and their "friends" and as many rooms as possible with bathrooms to accommodate family and friends.

 

It is therefore within this existing framework and the works already present that our intervention should be carried out. The renovation will require to take into consideration the heritage characteristics of the house and to highlight the unused elements of the building while preserving the classic style of the house.

© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved

IEV - Rénovation d'une maison secondaire en Normandie

"blablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablabla"

Client/Maître d'ouvrage:Privé
Location/Lieu:La Touche, France
Area/Surface: around 600sqm/ environ 600m²
Year/Année:2020
Cooperation/Collaboration: ---
Status/Status: On going/En cours

Parisiens depuis de nombreuses années mais désireux de créer un cadre familial hors de la capitale, nos clients ont fait le choix de faire l’acquisition d’une maison secondaire proche de Paris. Cette nouvelle résidence sera principalement destinée à accueillir toute la famille et les amis durant les weekends et les vacances. C’est essentiellement une maison de loisir et de convivialité.

 

Nos clients ont ainsi entamé diverses recherches de propriété, tout d’abord proche des environs d’Angoulême et ensuite en Normandie. Finalement après de nombreux mois de recherche, ils jetteront leurs dévolus sur un domaine dans l’Orne, proche d’Alençon en Normandie. C’est une grande propriété au milieu de la campagne avec un beau paysage arboré, un étang et une piscine chauffée.

Une belle de propriété de deux hectares qui a connu plusieurs usages avant son rachat par les propriétaires actuels (maison principale, colonie de vacances etc…). Comme le souligne la brochure immobilière commerciale « Trois siècles furent nécessaires à l’achèvement, fin XIXème, de cette demeure aux belles proportions, qui lui confèrent une distribution intérieure très classique, valorisée par de beaux volumes lumineux ».

 

Quatre bâtiments sont répartis sur le domaine, une dépendance en pierre anciennement maison de gardien, une remise en pierre faisant office de garage, un bâtiment en maçonnerie plus récent servant d’atelier et la maison principale qui est le fruit de multiple additions successives.

Chacune de ses extensions est reconnaissable par l’abaissement de sa toiture par rapport aux volumes précédent. Une véranda plus contemporaine implanté perpendiculairement au reste des volumes complète le bâtiment. Ainsi la maison ressemble à une grande longère en pierre sur plusieurs niveaux en cascade.

 

Dans cette bâtisse principale les précédents propriétaires avaient entrepris des travaux de rénovation avec notamment la reprise complète de la salle à manger, de la cuisine, de certaines chambres et du magnifique escalier monumental en bois. Cependant, ils n’ont jamais pu terminer l’ensemble des interventions laissant une grande partie de la maison dans un état de délabrement.

De nombreuses pièces ont ainsi été laissé brut sans doublage et isolation, laissant apparaitre la pierre des murs extérieurs. Certains planchers n’ont pu être réalisé et laissent entrevoir les niveaux inférieurs à travers les nombreuses brèches des planchers structurels en bois. Et pour finir les réseaux de plomberie et d’électricité des pièces concernées ont été implantés mais jamais terminés.

Les pièces à finaliser possèdent de beaux volumes en pierre (souvent associés à de grandes cheminées), auquel il conviendra de définir des usages et d’exploiter les potentiels, et notamment les combles actuels qui n’ont jamais été visité et qui semble posséder une belle hauteur sous faitage.

 

Le programme des clients est simple, créer un grand salon de réception, une belle cuisine dinatoire, un dortoir pour les enfants et leurs « copains » et un maximum de chambre avec pièce d’eau afin d’accueillir la famille et les amis.

 

C’est donc dans ce cadre existant et dans une logique de cohérence architecturale et de valorisation des ouvrages déjà présents que notre intervention devra être réalisée. La rénovation nécessitera de prendre en considération les caractéristiques patrimoniaux de la demeure et de mettre en avant les éléments non exploités du bâti tout en préservant l’emprunte classique de la maison.

© Copyright Kitoko Studio 2018 - All rights reserved